Pineapple Tarts

Pineapple tarts is a must – haves in almost every household during Chinese New Year. It symbolises auspicious and prosperity. For me, I mainly like it for its taste. I like pineaple tarts which is buttery, melt in the mouth, a bit crumbly and the pineapple paste must not be too sweet but with a tinge of sourness.

In the past, I have not entertained the thought of baking it myself. But this year, maybe it’s the influence from fb  friends where they baked for each other, that I started to research and try to bake it.

I tried 2 recipes. The dough of the first very popular recipe is a little bit oily and not as buttery. As the recipe yield a lot and I couldn’t finish making it, I stored the dough in the fridge for a few days. I realised the longer I store the dough, the less buttery flavour it has. The second recipe yield a smaller batch and is less oily but surprisingly has a better buttery flavour. It also has a bit of powdery touch when I roll out the dough. Could be the corn flour that gives it that powdery touch and subsequently the melt in the mouth feeling.

image

Yummy!

The result surprisingly suits our taste and easy to make, for a first timer like me.

image

The centre smaller ones are without any fillings for my little one :)

Above 2 pictures are from the second recipe with slight variation.

image

A batch from the first recipe

After trying out both enclosed and open  version of the tart, my family prefers the enclosed version. The enclosed version seems to go well with the huge pineapple filling which I like to put in.

I used store bought pineapple jam since its so easily available here. I tried Singlong and Phoon Huat brand, both have the sweet and sour taste. Friends and family members who tried it thought I made the filling myself. Hee hee.

image

Store bought pineapple filling

Cost about $4. The packs come in 1kg so you can make many batches. My total was about 100 pieces over a few batches.

Here’s the recipe of the one which I like.

Adapted from Noobcook.
Ingredients:

- 150g plain flour
– l/4 tsp salt
– 2 tbsp corn flour (or corn starch)
– 100g unsalted butter
– 1 1/2 tbsp icing sugar
– 1 egg yolk (medium to big size)
– I tbsp milk (I added this as I realised the dough was a bit dry)

- 120g store bought pineapple paste (I used more than 120 gm as my filling is 1 tsp each ball)
– 1 egg, beaten for glazing (I used egg yolk + 1 tbsp milk)

Directions:
1) Measure out the floor and corn flour, salt and icing sugar. Sift them. Whisk them together.

image

Using weighing scale is the best!

2) Cut the butter into pieces n rub it into the flour mixture. I like to use 2 folks to do the rub-in method as my fingers tend to be warm.

3) Do step 2 until the mixture become sandy/grainy and well mixed.

4) Add yolk to the flour and mix until it become a dough. I usually pat them and give them a squeeze gently. Do not over mix.

5) Wrap the dough in cling wrap. Use enough cling wrap as it will be my “counter top” when I roll them flat later.

image

Rolling the pineapple filling

6) Let dough rest in cling wrap while working on the pineapple filling. I roll 1 tsp for each ball.

7) Fold the cling wrap into half and use a roller to roll the dough flat. Use a round cookie cutter to cut into circles.

8) Remove each circle and wrap the filling. Try to roll them with your palm gently to remove any crease.

9) Place them on baking paper and on tray.

10) When mid way or 3-quarter into finishing rolling the tarts, preheat oven to 180 degrees.

11) Glaze each tart with the egg wash.

12) Bake for 15 minutes. About 5 minutes before time is up, I would take the whole tray out to glaze with egg wash again. Turn the tray around and continue baking.

image

Fresh out from oven

I still have leftover pineapple filling in my fridge. Next round I will try with cake flour to see if it will become soft. Generally the feedback about this tart is buttery, addictive and nice. Friends and collegues are surprised that store bought pineapple filling can be good. There’s one batch in which comment of pastry was hard. I will try with cake flour next time. :)

image

Does it look like store bought tarts? :)

You may ask why go through all the trouble? It’s the satisfaction at the end when you see the final product and seeing the pleasant surprise looks from family and friends that makes it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

