Baked Sambal Stingray

I usually do my grocery shopping on Saturday mornings while my kiddo attends enrichment class. Last Saturday, I spotted 2 pieces of stingray selling for $5. The favourite dish that I had ions ago flashed through my mind. BBQ Sambal Stingray!

This dish is not cheap. I remember we paid about  $15 to $20 for similar size. Immediately, I set off to find banana leaf and ready made sambal chilli. That’s how the dish is usually served. The leaf adds flavour to the fish I guess. A pack with layers of banana leaf only cost me $1.40 and the pack of sambal chilli $2.30. I still have leftovers for both items today!

After I reached home, I immediately googled for sambal stingray recipes. Finally I settled on 1 recipe with some variations. Recipe adapted here:

1. Wash and soak the fish in salt water for 2 hours, leave it in fridge. This is to remove any smell that may come with stingray. Skip this step if using other types of fish.

2. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

3. Wash and cut banana leaf to size and soak in hot water for 10 minutes. (Just use aluminium foil if you don’t have banana leaf) Wipe dry when done.

4. Place baking paper on baking tray. Brush paper with oil. Place banana leaf on top. Brush banana leaf with oil if you prefer. I didn’t.

5. Place the fish on top n spread some salt on fish. Bake for 5 minutes.

6. Remove. Spread sambal chilli on fish. Bake for another 5 minutes.

7. Remove. Flip the fish over, spread some salt over it. Bake for 5 minutes.

8. Remove. Spread sambal chilli on fish again. Bake for another 5 to 7 minutes.

9. Remove. Squeeze some lime on it and serve.

Be careful not to put on too much salt as it may turn out too salty.

image

My first ever Sambal Chilli Stingray

It’s so easy. Above picture shows only 1 piece from the 2 pieces that I bought. The meat is tender and moist and the sambal chilli and saltiness compliments the fish. Almost the same as the memory I had ions ago. Next time I will try with other types of fish and even meat! I will try it on my air fryer as well. 🙂

For this one dish, I bought a pack of banana leaf and end up having so much leftovers. I have since used it in replacement of aluminium foil or baking paper in my air fryer. The leaf is a great substitute and it’s natural too.

I will take a picture of the sambal chilli pack and banana leaf pack the next time I visit the supermarket again.

Till then, good night!

4 thoughts on “Baked Sambal Stingray

  1. Thanks for the shout-out Blessed Corner. Looks like you had a good dinner. Extra Banana Leaves can be kept in freezers. You can also use the BL for maintaining your iron (clothes). Turn on the iron appliance and iron on the smooth part of the BL a few times until you can feel it gliding without resistance. Your iron will be smoother next time you do ironing 🙂

Leave a Reply

