Soft and Easy White Bread Roll

I have always been searching for a bread recipe that not only has fewer number of ingredients and simpler steps, most importantly, let me have soft bread even on second or third day. Fluffy is of course an added bonus. šŸ™‚

image

Love the "softness"

I always wonder what makes the commercial / bakery bread so soft even on second and third day? What is the difference that my home baked bread is dense and hard the next day? I must one day find out what exactly made theirs so soft.

Just last week, I was attracted by this particular recipe that doesn’t require a lot of ingredients. The steps is simple enough for me too. Best part is there’s no need to knead until “window pane” results, just use spatula will do. That’s genius! Using spatula will scrape the wet dough from the bowl easier than a spoon. I even used the spatula to help me knead and cut the dough!

image

Freshly baked - from first batch

The process was fast and easy. The end results? Surprisingly soft when freshly baked. The top of the bread is soft when touched when taken out of the oven. Now, most breads stay soft and fluffy on the first day and become hard and dense the next day. This bread however is still soft after 2 days. I won’t say it is fluffy the next day, but it is definitely soft though it became slightly more dense. Loved the results so much that I baked another 2 batches after the first.

Adapted from Cookpad :

Ingredients:
200 gm bread flour
3 gm salt (I changed to 4 gm if its just roll with no filling)
150ml milk
15 gm sugar
15 gm butter
4 gm yeast
5gm dried pasley (Optional. I added this myself for variety)
A handful of parmesan cheese (Optional. Again, I added this for variety.)
Hot dogs or any other fillings (Optional. I added this for variety.)

Directions:
1. Sift the bread flour and add the salt. (Omit this step if u prefer. I usually do this step as I found undesirable objects last time.)Ā  Add the pasley or parmesan cheese at this point if you intend to include them. Whisk them together with a balloon whisk.

image

Whisk them!

2. Heat the milk, butter and sugar together.

image

Heat them up

3. When the milk mixture is slightly cool to warm, add the yeast. Stir and leave it for a while.

4. Pour the milk mixture into the flour mixture. Use a spatula and mix, cut and fold them like how you do a normal cake mixture.

image

Time to mix!

5. Mix until dough looks a bit glossy. Original recipe says form it into a ball for first proofing. Usually I am not able to form them into a ball as they are still quite a wet dough. So i just lift up the dough with the spatula and pour little bit of olive oil on all the sides to let it proof in the same bowl.

6. Cover and proof the dough until double it’s original size.

7. After dough has been proofed, use the spatula to remove dough from bowl and put on floured counter top. I didn’t really punch down as my action of removing the dough sort of deflate the dough already.

8. Knead gently with floured hands and cut into 6 to 8 portions. Shape them into small balls. Or you can add hot dogs or other fillings at this point. Place them on lined baking tray.

9. Cover and proof again. About half an hour but depends on the weather condition. Just make sure the size is bigger than original.

image

Second proofing

10. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

11. When its done proofing, sift some flour on the top.

image

"Flour-wash"

12. Bake at 160 degrees for about 13 to 15 min. You may need to adjust the timing depending on your oven. (Original recipe didn’t state baking time, I just tried based on 13 minutes and it works for me.)

image

This batch is with pasley

Remove excess flour by brushing off with a brush.

image

Dust off excess flour

Soft to the touch even on the third day. (At least it is soft, not hard like rock which I have had my fair share of disappointment before.)

image

Pardon the hot dog at the side than at the centre of the bun

This recipe is definitely a keeper for me. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

