Double Chocolate Banana Muffin

I have a pack of organic wholemeal flour to finish. Since I have some bananas, I thought why not banana chocolate muffin? Now my family is not a big fan of wholemeal flour. To add it into my baked goods, I have to sneak in this ingredient without being too “obvious”.

image

Love the icing on top

I came across this recipe which has a lot of good reviews. It uses plain flour, but I thought may be I can try mixing some of it with wholemeal flour. I have also added some coconut oil for added flavour, organic vanilla essence and chocolate chips.

The result was surprisingly moist, soft and fluffy when baked. Since I have eaten it warm, I will check it out tomorrow to see if it has turned dense or hard.

Recipe adapted from Cat Can Cook
(As the recipe is by cups, I have converted it to weights as I am used to measuring my ingredients by weighing.)

Ingredients:

60 gm Butter (75gm melted butter from original recipe)
15 ml coconut oil (I added this)
80gm light brown sugar (100gm sugar from original recipe)
1 tsp vanilla essence (I added this)
1 egg
3 bananas (3 or 4 bananas from original recipe)
3 tbsp milk (I added this)

100gm wholemeal plain flour (187.5gm flour from original recipe)
87.5gm cake flour
1 tbsp coco powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
Chocolate chips (to taste)
Chocolate rice (to taste)
Icing (for sifting on top)

Directions:
1. Use hand whisk to whisk all dry ingredients in a bowl. Add in chocolate chips and whisk.

2. Put butter + coconut oil + vanilla essence in another bowl. Whisk them together until light yellow.

3. Whisk in beaten egg, followed by mashed bananas and milk.

4. Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

5. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Fold in with a spatula until just mixed.

6. Spoon batter into muffin cups. Sprinkle chocolate chips and chocolate rice on top.

7. Bake at 180 or 200 degrees for 20 minutes.

Makes 6 to 7 regular size muffins.

My kiddo, who dislikes wholemeal muffins, actually finished one without knowing that it contained wholemeal flour. Easily fooled. 🙂 Or is it because of the chocolate chips and chocolate rice on top?

We sprinkled one muffin with icing sugar, complete with lighted candle and wished the kiddo’s daddy Happy Father’s Day. 🙂

image

From kiddo to daddy

Notes:
1. Original recipe says use melted butter. But by the time I finished measuring the ingredients in this hot weather, it has softened. So I just whisk them together.

2. I mixed the sugar into butter instead of with the dry ingredients. When hand whisk them, I tried to imitate the machine “creaming” method.

3. When I mashed the bananas, I like to leave some bits un-mashed so that when baked, I can still taste some bananas.

4. I added some milk so that my batter is easier to fold in with the dry ingredients.

5. Brown sugar helps make baked goods moist. More bananas also makes it moist, as advised by the original recipe.

6. When dry and wet ingredients are mixed together, it is important to get them to just-mixed stage anddo not overmix as it will give hard muffins.

7. Original recipe says bake at 350 fahrenheit, which is about 177 degrees. I pre-heat oven at 200 degrees and remain baking at 200 degrees for first 10 min or so, then reduce it to 180 degrees. I like my muffins tall, I read that high temperature helps to make muffins taller.

Leave a Reply

