Air Fried Breaded Chicken

We bought the Japanese panko (bread crumbs) from the supermarket the other day. We wanted to try it on chicken and air fryer. Usually we will use chicken breast as it’s healthier. You may think the end result should be dry especially if it’s air fried and breaded? Not sure if it’s because of the short timing, the chicken was not dry but moist and quite well flavoured considered I only marinated the chicken for about 1 hour. My family loves it so much that by the time I sat down to start eating, only few pieces left for me. 😦

image

Breaded Chicken

First we “butterfly” the chicken breast. Then we marinate it. I like to use a folk to poke the meat first before marinating. Hopefully it can absorb more of the seasoning. I “concocted” this seasoning based on what I have on hand in my pantry. You can also do the same.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp soya sauce
1 tbsp japanese mayo (kewpie is fine)
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp corn flour or plain flour

Chicken breast meat 2 pieces

Panko or Bread crumb
Salt
Pepper
Dried parsley

Directions:
1. Cut the chicken breast into thin slices. Poke the meat with a fork for better absorption.

2. Marinate chicken with the wet seasoning. Leave for at least 1 hour.

3. Scoop out bread crumbs onto a plate. Sprinkle some salt, pepper and dried parsley and mix well.

4. Coat chicken with bread crumb. “Paint” some oil on the baking paper. Lay chicken flat (don’t overlap them) on baking paper.

image

Just before going into air fryer

5. Air fry chicken at 180 degrees for about 13 to 15 minutes depending on thickness of chicken.

image

Just out from air fryer

Note:
1. I like to drain away the wet seasoning from the chicken before coating it with bread crumb. Remainder seasoning I will usually use it to cook other dishes.

2. As I don’t like too much bread crumb on the chicken and to prevent contamination on my bread crumb, I like to use 2 plates and a spoon. One plate for bread crumb, 1 empty plate to lay the chicken, then spoon over the bread crumb onto the chicken. Making sure my spoon don’t touch the chicken.

image

Applying bread crumbs

Leave a Reply

