Air Fried Karaage Chicken Wing

I recently used the same chicken kara-age recipe on chicken wings for our parties. The result was yummy, as what most guests commented. 🙂

For ease of eating, I used mid joint wings only. I also removed some of the “fatty” skin away from the wings. Karaage usually has the skin on.

As my previous karaage recipe (here) and the original recipe (I adapted from my favourite youtube channel – Ochikeron) listed about 250 gm chicken, and I need to air fry about 1kg of wings, I multiplied the recipe by 4.

While marinating, I turned the wings a few times. For best results, marinate overnight. In fact, I marinated for about a day.

image

Looks yummy?

As I don’t have ginger juice, I used my favourite Soup Restaurant’s ginger sauce. This probably makes the difference.

image

Marinating in progress

This time round, I didn’t do it the lazy way. I marinated the wings with wet ingredients overnight first. Then coat it with the dry ingredients and egg just before air fry.

Recipe adapted from here:

Ingredients:
1kg chicken wings
4 tbsp soya sauce
1 tbsp ginger sauce or juice
4 tbsp plain flour
4 tbsp potato starch or corn flour
1 beaten egg

Directions:
1. Marinate chicken wings in soya sauce and ginger sauce. Leave overnight or at least 2 hours. Be sure to turn them as the sauce may not cover all wings.

2. Just before air fry, mix both types of flour together. Beat an egg separately.

3. Coat the wings with the egg followed by dry ingredients.

4. Lay the wings on the air fryer basket. Make sure they don’t overlay. This means air fry them in batches due to size of air fryer.

5. Air fry chicken wing at 200 degrees for 15 minutes. (Flip them halfway)

Note:
1. This time I didn’t put baking paper, it’s fine with me. But quite messy to clean.

2. I didn’t brush the basket with oil as the skin of the wings have oil plus the ginger sauce from Soup Restaurant has oil.

3. The ginger sauce can be found in NTUC, jar-type. $6.80 per bottle. I got it at 1 for 1 some time back, unfortunately, no such promo anymore. It’s goes very well with steamed chicken too.

Leave a Reply

